Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Whats up with this "testing waters" crap?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Whats up with this "testing waters" crap?

Could somebody explain this to me?

"testing waters" means roughly figuring out how much someone will give you for a item, as in checking to see what the items value is on the forum, and to see who will buy it. I hoped i answered your question. Thank you for visiting soysaucecb7 online dictionary.com
    To have loved and lost is better than to have never loved at all #CB7Life

Comment

That does anwser my question, although, if I was trying to sell something, I wouldnt be like "whats it worth to you?" and then try to talk someone up to what I think its worth. But im a salesman, so thats just me.

Comment

well thast not what your supposed to do, when you test the water you simply see what you can get for a part. thats all, if you want to sell an item, you simply name a price and work from there.

Comment

Originally posted by SoySauceCb7
          well thast not what your supposed to do, when you test the water you simply see what you can get for a part. thats all, if you want to sell an item, you simply name a price and work from there.
          Good point

Comment

i understand your point, but i still think its kinda stupid. thats like asking... "ok guys, who wants this and how much would you pay for it?... cause its NOT for sale" just a waste of time, imo. its either for sale or its not, quit teasing.

Last edited by DrLove'sKuDang; 09-02-2004, 11:00 PM.

Comment

I always thought it ment, you were just checking out to see if anyone was really interested in it. and if people are, then you sell it! if not then you were just testing the water...lmao
              H22 Prelude VTEC 92-96 200 161 10.6:1 87 90 DOHC VTEC 2157 JDM

190.3whp 155 wtq - with bolt ons, and a dc header

ET=14.457 @ 94mph w/ 2.173 60Fter

Comment

Originally posted by phatdoughnut