Transmission Issue and new clutch?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Transmission Issue and new clutch?

Ok .. I am new to my Honda and this board. I got my rider 5 months ago and I drove 5000 miles on it. It has 105k miles now. It is a 1992 LX Model The problem started about couple weeks ago when I replaced slave and master cylinder. The car was working again after my clutch. However, I noticed last week that the car clutch is slipping. It revs to higher rpm when I am on the gas pedal. This morning, it got really bad. It needed to be 4000-5000 rpm for me to move the car. It slipped like crazy. On the way to work, it went BOOM. I heard something popped. I can shift it to any gear and it stays on neutral. There was also something burning too. What else can be wrong other than a clutch? How hard and any direction on how to replace the honda clutch? I may just get a advance auto clutch for 65 dollars. Are they ok clutch if you dont race it. It is not my racer and it is just my daily beater.
    1999 Trans AM LS1 A4 11.8-12.5@108-112 mph
    Beater - 1992 Honda Accord LX 2.2L M5

Welcome and that sucks to hear. As for replacing your clutch the past 2 days ive been reading on it and I guess it's alot of work and time to do but it is possible if you have the time and tools to do it. Its just very time consuming so I hear. I Don't really know about clutches so I cant help you there. Are you near MA by any chance?

Comment

I am in Maryland. I dont own a shop. I just have a set of sockets, wrenches, jack, stands and other handy man tools.

Comment

Originally posted by mousetom78