wheel rotational mass vs. power

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

wheel rotational mass vs. power

whats the difference in power loss when comparing wheel weight.

i weighed my wheels today and here were the results:

14" steelie w/ 195/60 falken azenis--35lbs
    17" sokudo w/ 215/45 kumho ecsta--40lbs

given that i swap the front pair, thats a 10lb difference. me knowing that, i cant rely on my feeling to tell if it makes a noticable difference... cause knowing the difference will make my mind think one is better.

im not worried about cornering, just straight acceleration. how much of a difference will 10lbs make???
    Last edited by DrLove'sKuDang; 04-11-2004, 06:24 PM.

that's a physics question

let me preface this reply with two things:
    1. this is not a complete answer to your queston.
    2. i am not an expert in physics. but i do know something about it, and will double check everything written below.

the short answer is that it has little to do with how much the wheel weighs.

from your subject line is seems like you sorta already realize it, but i'll say it anyway. it is not the mass of the wheel that is important, but where that mass is located relative to the axis of rotation. and that is a good place to start.

now, i know that steelies are quite different from alloys, but for the sake of discussion, lets assume that the weights for both wheels are the same, and that the weight is distributed evenly across the radius of the wheels. so, for example, we have one 15" wheel weighing 30 lbs and one 17" wheel weighing 30 lbs. we know intuitively that the 17" wheel requires more work (on the part of the engine and drive train) to get it moving. so lets go with that.