Front knocking sound: details inside:

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Front knocking sound: details inside:

First off, let me introduce myself. My name is Scott and I've just become a member of the CB7 family. I've been a CR-X driver for almost 8 years, so Honda is nothing new to me. But the nice ride of an Accord is . I bought a 1993 SE Coupe, pretty mint. 126k miles. Here is a pic before I ask the question I'm posting this for...

FYI: The owner canned the spoiler because he didn't like it. I don't mind because I think CBs look ultra clean with no spoiler. Just my opinion.

mmmm JDM CR-Xness....

Now off to my question! I have this clicking/knocking in the front, front meaning both sides of the wheels. During the period when the car is cold the knockin is worse, happening over the slightest bumps... when the suspension has warmed up a good bit, it only happens over larger bumps. My first thought is struts... but to save my self the hassle of looking I took it to Honda (doesn't mean they ARE always correct) and they said the struts and shocks were good. My friend (ex honda tech) said it could be the sway bar endlinks.

Has anyone had this problem before, and what was your band-aid to get it fixed up?

Thank you and I'll be enjoying this forum (already have been). Thank you for reading and any replies!

-Scott
    Last edited by tweakit; 01-22-2006, 07:10 PM.
    My Ride

best bet is to just crawl under the car, and make sure everything is tight. Check the UCA's, and sway bar endlinks. Although the endlinks will also make a click when you start from a stop, and when you stop.

Both cars look very clean btw. There are two around here just like that except with no tint.

Comment

ive been meaning to get under the car but i am down at school and dont have access to a nice, safe jack (at least one that i trust being under the car with) and my friend with a hydro lift wont be able to let me use it till later. just seeing if anyone had an idea.