5 channel amp?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

5 channel amp?

Are they worth using? I wont be needing much power.

My polk speakers only need about 60-70 rms at 4 ohms and my sub wont be needing more then 300ish. I'll be using a memphis sub

I've never used a 5 channel before, should I just use one amp for speakers and one for the sub?

A good quality one is a great choice.. It will probably end up being cheaper then two decent amps and you end up with a complete and clean install.

link

Comment

I feel dumb for asking but would I need a 4 ohm sub so everything is running 4 ohms? Also would it matter if it was dual or single voice coil?

Comment

That amp is
        420 watts x 1 chan. at 2 ohms
        210 watts x 1 chan. at 4 ohms

So you can run pretty much anything

SVC 2ohm sub
        SVC 4ohm sub
        DVC 4ohm sub
        DVC 2ohm sub

And of course you could run two around 210 watt rms 4 ohm subs

ETC............

Comment

If I were to run new wires from the amp to the speakers what would I do with the stock wiring? Would the headunit still be trying to send out power to the wires or would it stop once the RCAs are connected?

Comment

Originally posted by apuforyou
            If I were to run new wires from the amp to the speakers what would I do with the stock wiring? Would the headunit still be trying to send out power to the wires or would it stop once the RCAs are connected?
            If the radio was really high end you could turn off the internal amplifier.. But yes with almost every radio it would still output but it would not affect anything as long as they are taped up

Comment

we have one here at work, its a kicker 5 channel...since its over a year old its dirt cheap...its like 220 bucks hehe (kkr06700.5)

its like 50 watts rms x4 and i think either 300 or 400 for the sub.

most 5 channel amps doesnt yeild alot of power rms wise....yet the directed d2205 amp has hecka power for the money.