This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Fast Food workers $15/hr??

Hello everyone, news is trending on google and the web of Fast Food workers protesting and demanding at least 15/hr. The protestors are saying that the fast food cains can afford this as McDonalds for example, profited 5.5 billion from last year. What are your thoughts fellow tuners? I think it's absurd to ask for that type of increase in pay. I would be all in for $9-$12/hr. Coming from a management perspective and working in finance work 5+ years, a starting pay of $30K a year for fast food workers is insane. I know many careers and positions that require a degree to enter and the base salaries are $30K-$45k/year. This is with a college degree in a relevant field to the position. When i graduated with my degree in finance, i was offered a financial analyst position witha starting salary of $36K. This was fresh out of college. These positions still have a similar starting salary. I think these protestors are insane for demanding this much. The only way they can get $15/hr is if McDonald's dollar menu went from $1 to $5. Anyone with a basic understanding of economics should be able to understand why $15/hr is just not feasible. Your thoughts? let's discuss.

Actually most jobs that require a degree are starting at $40k+. With the BS and hours the workers go through at McDonalds, I agree with $15an hour. I worked at Whataburger for about a year and the pay wasn't cutting it for the shit I put up with. Yea I was in high school too. I would've like AT LEAST $10/hr. racist fucks coming in there treating you like shit, and then the every day customer who always gives you an attitude and whatnot. Yet you have to sit there and smile and be happy go lucky about it.