I think I found a way to make extra $$

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I think I found a way to make extra $$

Alright, so I currently work as a detailer at a dealership. Job's really good, I love it. Pay could be slightly better, so I need something to supplement my income and make a little extra side cash.

Why not after hours detailing from my house, or by appointment on site at the customer's house? Just load up my equipment in my car, drive to their house and do my thing there, or have them drop the vehicle at my house and I'll clean it there.

Nobody in my town offers a mobile service. I can operate between 5:30-10pm during the week and by appointments on weekends.

My prices undercut the 2 large detail shops in town by a slight margin. Asking only $20 for a wash & dry, or $20 for an interior vac & wipe or $20 for an engine bay degreasing....or $60 if I do all of it.

Sounds reasonable?

Ideas, input, comments?

Sounds like a no brainer but down here a wash & dry normally includes a vacuum and interior wipe down....average prices is $15 - $25.
    1993 Accord LX - Sold
    93 BMW 525it - SOLD
    92 Accord EX Sedan - SOLD
    2000 Accord Coupe - Traded-In
    2003 Accord V6 6spd Coupe - Sold
    2001 Honda Civic Ex - SOLD
    2013 Chevy Traverse LTZ - Kid hauler
    2003 Acura Tl 3.2 - Daily Commuter

Comment

I looked at the "big guy's" website here in town and they seperate the exterior & interior cleanings in 2 catergories with individual prices.

At work, when a customer vehicle comes in for service, I only do an exterior wash on it. I never touch the interior.

Comment

Really? I guess its really different in Canada. If that the case you can make a killing separating the packages or make smaller killing with a nmore loyal client base by combining the packages under one low fee (be innovative)
        1993 Accord LX - Sold
        93 BMW 525it - SOLD
        92 Accord EX Sedan - SOLD
        2000 Accord Coupe - Traded-In