I need some advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I need some advice

My whole life I worked on cars and loved it. I work on things like brakes to engine and motor work, excluding removing motors and transmissions and timing belts. I also done suspensions in countless cars and LOVE IT.

However since I graduated my community college with an AA in automotive I got a good job opportunity (on my bday) at this local shop. They are good people and I have done business with them before. I went for the interview and it went good and I got the job.

On Saturday the owner wanted me to come in and work on his BMW to service the rear brake rotors and resurface them with the brake lathe, which was no problem. I did it with a little frustration getting the rotor out but no biggie. Finished the car and boss was happy.

But as I was going home I couldn't help but feel very frustrated, pissed, lost, and confused. I never felt this way about working on cars. But every time I think about having to work in a shop on cars I get so mad. I don't understand what is the matter with me. Its not like im stressing at work or because of work.

Perhaps its because I don't like having a time limit and I like doing things at my own pace compared to a shop. But I had people tell me they need their cars by a certain time and I would get it done without a problem.

Im not scared of the job. But my parents are proud of me and im happy for the job opportunity but I feel as if im not happy and rather just do it as a side job and not mix my hobby with my work.

...what should I do?

Today after the brake job on boss's car, I went to my cousins house to do her rear brakes and rotors and I was truly enjoying it and got it done pretty quick, but why do I start trippin every time I think about my new job??
    What makes me laugh about forums, is that no matter how much you try to help someone, they dont take the advice. Go ahead and do it the hard way.