CB7Tuner Forums

Go Back   CB7Tuner Forums > Beginner forum -- New members post here! > Beginner Technical/Performance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-08-2009, 06:27 PM   #1
ewr3ck18
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: biloxi,ms
Posts: 40
ewr3ck18 is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to ewr3ck18
hazard switch for fogs

ok i have the factory foglights on my coupe and i can't really find an oem switch but i have the harness and everything what i need to know is it possible to wire up an extra hazard switch to run them... if so tell me colors and stuff please im just not a fan of toggle switches... all opinions are appreciated... thanks
ewr3ck18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 06:39 PM   #2
sombra13
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: inglewood, cali
Posts: 187
sombra13 is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to sombra13 Send a message via Yahoo to sombra13
did u try ebay i came accross some foglight switchs
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/JDM-h...Q5fAccessories
sombra13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 07:35 PM   #3
h22accord1992
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 44
h22accord1992 is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to h22accord1992
wiring them up to the factory swtich which are usually all over ebay is very similar to wiring them with a relay/toggle switch, the main difference is that the oem switch acts as a relay...its not too bad...i know there is a thread on here somewhere about it...
h22accord1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 06:50 PM   #4
Accrdwgnguy
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Weare, NH
Posts: 3,564
Accrdwgnguy seems to have made some friends!
Send a message via AIM to Accrdwgnguy
Quote:
Originally Posted by h22accord1992 View Post
wiring them up to the factory swtich which are usually all over ebay is very similar to wiring them with a relay/toggle switch, the main difference is that the oem switch acts as a relay...its not too bad...i know there is a thread on here somewhere about it...
No the switch DOES NOT act as a relay, if you wire up the switch direct it will burn out, it can't handle that load. Always use a relay for wiring fogs!
Accrdwgnguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 12:23 AM   #5
cb7trancebeast
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dallas Tx
Posts: 261
cb7trancebeast is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to cb7trancebeast
Switch acts as a Relay? wtf
cb7trancebeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 03:34 PM   #6
vitaminaccrd
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 30
vitaminaccrd is cool... so far.
Send a message via MSN to vitaminaccrd
Or just used an extra fuse that way if it blow the fuse goes first.
vitaminaccrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 04:10 PM   #7
Accrdwgnguy
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Weare, NH
Posts: 3,564
Accrdwgnguy seems to have made some friends!
Send a message via AIM to Accrdwgnguy
Quote:
Originally Posted by vitaminaccrd View Post
Or just used an extra fuse that way if it blow the fuse goes first.
Screw that why blow up a $30 oem fog switch if a relay is $2

Do it right the first time and you'll never have to do it again
Accrdwgnguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 05:52 PM   #8
ewr3ck18
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: biloxi,ms
Posts: 40
ewr3ck18 is cool... so far.
Send a message via AIM to ewr3ck18
ok so misunderstanding on the post

i don't just have the fog lights the factory harness is in the car as well all i lack is a switch and instead of buying a factory switch i have another hazard switch if anyone has ever wired one up let me know
ewr3ck18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
foglights

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.