What happened to good, kind people?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What happened to good, kind people?

Now don't think this is some post about me complaining about buying a car with busted suspension. But as a full college student(I'm a bio major with an 18hr load)...with no money (no spare cash to be exact) I can't afford to just jump and spring $600 on a set of coilovers and throw $200 more at my ball joints and tie rods etc.

So I took to the car community, you know asking for help basically or someone with spare springs laying around that they aren't using and aren't going to ever use. I mean I'm a broke student with EXTREMELY limited funds, and drive a car that's seemingly a little too unsafe now.

I make my Facebook post in a parts page hoping someone sees it and goes "damn this kid is struggling let me help him out" and just offer some advice or even donate some suspension parts because I can't afford them at the moment (come thru autozone -fingers crossed-).

I saw 26 people had seen the post yet no one replied. At that point I was a little discouraged but still optimistic plus I was only wondering if anyone would help me out. Not that that were obligated too. Then I saw 2 people make 2 more post asking about suspension parts and within seconds people were replying with the suspension parts they had and a price attached.

It just made me think, some people will only help others when there's something for them to gain as well. Broke kid asking for help so his only car doesn't kill him, everyone turns a blind eye but the moment something to gain comes into the picture everyone has something to offer.

I guess I'm just too nice though. If the tables had been turned or not even that. If I have something and someone is struggling to get by and I have something they can benefit from, I just give it to them. Clearly you need it more than me. But that's me, and I know everyone isn't like that.