CB7Tuner Forums

Go Back   CB7Tuner Forums > Beginner forum -- New members post here! > Beginner Technical/Performance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-03-2020, 05:00 PM   #1
AccordClassic
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 9
AccordClassic is cool... so far.
Angry The neverending hesitation/missfire/stutter saga

How's it going guys, long time lurker first post. So a little while back I started to get a hesitation or missfire while I was driving. It was slight and only happened when the car was fully warmed up. Usually when I was on the highway as I commute 30 miles for work. Now, it is very noticible and happens all the time; cold, hot, idle, highway speeds, all the time. It isn't consistent just randomly stutters. It's so bad that when I get off the highway and go to park it sometimes sputters and dies or backfires every once in a while.

Things I've replaced so far, plugs, wires, coil, dizzy w/ignition module, engine temp sensors, o2 sensor, injectors, fuel filter, map sensor, swapped ECU, put blank between EGR valve and intake manifold, air filter.

To be honest this one is kicking my ass and I'm pulling my hair out haha. Any other suggestions? Appreciate anything you might have at this point.
AccordClassic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2020, 08:18 PM   #2
fleetw00d
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Southwest Ohio
Posts: 2,889
fleetw00d is very helpful fleetw00d is very helpful
I assume you have no engine codes? Have you verified correct fuel pressure? I assume you correctly timed the distributor when you installed it? New cap and rotor with the distributor? What brand 02 sensor did you use? Can't hurt to clean up the engine harness ground on the thermostat housing.
__________________
90 LX 4dr 5 spd 385,000 - MRT: http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=201450
07 Element EX AWD 191,000 - MRT: http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=210623
07 Element EX AWD AT (2) 87,000 - MRT: www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=211920

LOTS of CB7 parts - ENTIRE COLLECTION - FREE
Come and get it.
http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=192583 or watch for banner ad at upper right
fleetw00d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2020, 10:48 PM   #3
AccordClassic
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 9
AccordClassic is cool... so far.
Had a code 15 originally before the distributor change, but none now. I haven't verified fuel pressure yet, I did replace the fuel pump a few years back with a walbro when I had bigger plans for the car. I marked the dizzy when I took it out and also checked timing with a light on install. Yep, new cap and rotor. New o2 sensor is Bosch. I can take a look at that ground, I've run some extra grounds but I don't know if I've checked that one specifically. Thanks for the response!
AccordClassic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2020, 06:28 AM   #4
af_1132
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 563
af_1132 is cool... so far.
Send a message via Skype™ to af_1132
I'm almost certain your problem stems from your O2 Sensor choice, and it possibly had a bad O2 sensor before you switched it out. Bosch O2 sensors are known to give our cars problems. I would recommend you go to NGK's website and get the O2 sensor they have there for our cars.
__________________
*** Think of others before thinking of yourself. ***
********** Spread love, not hate. ***********
****Lift others up with kind and helpful words****

F20A_CB7, I miss you, but I will see you one day.
"Nothing a little prayer can't fix."


MRT
Selling on Ebay!

15.10 @ 90.42mph
The quest for 9s ceased, now the goal is a circuit track monster!
Current fastest Laguna Seca Lap: 1:55.317
af_1132 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2020, 08:14 AM   #5
deevergote
Don't call me dude.
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Not New York
Posts: 40,213
deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool... deevergote . You'll never be this cool...
Send a message via AIM to deevergote
Quote:
Originally Posted by af_1132 View Post
I'm almost certain your problem stems from your O2 Sensor choice, and it possibly had a bad O2 sensor before you switched it out. Bosch O2 sensors are known to give our cars problems. I would recommend you go to NGK's website and get the O2 sensor they have there for our cars.
I came here to say exactly this. You beat me to it!
__________________






deevergote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2020, 11:15 AM   #6
AccordClassic
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 9
AccordClassic is cool... so far.
I'm sorry, I was mistaken, the O2 sensor I used was a Denso. Do you still recommend the NGK?
AccordClassic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2020, 11:27 AM   #7
AccordClassic
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 9
AccordClassic is cool... so far.
I just ordered the NGK O2 sensor and a set of their plug wires. Had some generic AutoZone wires on there now and the pricing is pretty reasonable. Fingers crossed I'll let you know what happens when I get these installed. Thanks for the help guys.
AccordClassic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2020, 02:56 PM   #8
Grumpys93
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Sunshine State
Posts: 2,963
Grumpys93 seems to have made some friends!
Make sure to look at rockauto, they have a lot of good brands for pretty cheap. Especially in the close out section.
__________________
~Nick~
FSAE (F Series Accord Enthusiasts) ..."A dying breed thats taking it to the next level" Lucky #13
MR Thread:http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthre...ight=Grumpys93
Grumpys93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2020, 08:47 PM   #9
AccordClassic
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 9
AccordClassic is cool... so far.
Yep, that's where I get most of my parts. Just haven't found the one that fixes it yet haha.
AccordClassic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2020, 10:20 PM   #10
af_1132
CB7tuner Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 563
af_1132 is cool... so far.
Send a message via Skype™ to af_1132
Wait, did you have a Denso before or do you have a Denso now? Denso is a major OE supplier for Honda, especially back in the day, and their reman alternators are great. However, I do not know about any O2 sensors from them.

I'm glad you got the NGK O2 Sensor, and it looks like you picked up a set of NGK blue wires as well.

If things are still not firing smooth after that, then we need to look into the dizzy you put on there next. I assume you got that from Rockauto, but what brand is it? To find a TEC dizzy online that someone pulled for a JY is ideal (or pulling one yourself if your JYs are still open), as that was OE.
__________________
*** Think of others before thinking of yourself. ***
********** Spread love, not hate. ***********
****Lift others up with kind and helpful words****

F20A_CB7, I miss you, but I will see you one day.
"Nothing a little prayer can't fix."


MRT
Selling on Ebay!

15.10 @ 90.42mph
The quest for 9s ceased, now the goal is a circuit track monster!
Current fastest Laguna Seca Lap: 1:55.317
af_1132 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2020, 12:24 AM   #11
AccordClassic
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 9
AccordClassic is cool... so far.
I'm not sure what the original o2 sensor was but the one I just put in is a Denso. As for the alternator, I bought a reman off eBay that didn't work at all. I have a second f22 in my garage and I took the dizzy off of it to use on the car when I found damaged wires in the original dizzy. Then when I still had a code 15 I replaced the Tec ignition module with a Denso.
AccordClassic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2020, 08:11 AM   #12
AccordClassic
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 9
AccordClassic is cool... so far.
Well it might be fixed! The new plug wires and o2 sensor came in yesterday so I went to install them. Wires went fine but the o2 sensor has the female side of the plug and it needs to be male so I figured I'd give it a shot with just the wires. Fired it up and let it get to operating temp, then went for a little drive and no misfires! I'll see what happens on the commute today and know for sure but I think it's finally fixed! I definitely found some issues with some of the items I replaced and being that most of them were over 25 years old, it was the right move but the final thing causing the issue was my AutoZone spark plugs wires! Mostly I bought them to troubleshoot other issues with the car but moral of the story is I won't be buying their brand any more haha. Thanks everyone for your help, it's nice to see we still have a community of people willing to help and try to keep these beauties on the road! Thanks again guys!
AccordClassic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2020, 07:40 PM   #13
fleetw00d
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Southwest Ohio
Posts: 2,889
fleetw00d is very helpful fleetw00d is very helpful
Good to hear. I guess I'll hang on to the new OEM set I have on the shelf. If you have a multimeter, check the resistance through the wires you took off. Also curious, what plugs did you use?

Last edited by fleetw00d; 04-09-2020 at 09:09 PM.
fleetw00d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2020, 09:02 PM   #14
AccordClassic
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 9
AccordClassic is cool... so far.
Yea NGK is the way to go for sure. I already tossed the wires otherwise I would. I used NGK plugs too, just the copper OEM replacements.
AccordClassic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2020, 09:10 PM   #15
fleetw00d
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Southwest Ohio
Posts: 2,889
fleetw00d is very helpful fleetw00d is very helpful
I tried some fancy plugs once; the engine just didn't run right with them.
fleetw00d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2020, 10:26 PM   #16
AccordClassic
Newcomer
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 9
AccordClassic is cool... so far.
Yea plug wise I've always had the best luck with the plain old coppers lol.
AccordClassic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hesitation , lurching , miss fire , stutter

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.