G23 Set up in my car is leaking..

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

G23 Set up in my car is leaking..

I've been hounding the internet for roughly a week since I got my 2000 accord, which remarkably came with a running G23 motor (F23 block with a Manual Version F20B head). Unfortunately the thing leaks down the front of the block underneath the head.

I'm guessing where those two galleys we're supposed to be plugged, their not. Needless to say the car can't be driven under those circumstance (Not for long anyway).
    Does anyone know anything about this hybrid set up? Would plumbing the head much like one would do on an lsvtec/b20vtec set up remedy the oil leak???

Posting off my phone, pics will be up shortly.

Comment

There is a thread somewhere (I just looked but couldn't find it right off the bat) about the difficulties with G-swaps and the issues you are experiencing are addressed. Further than that I'd try to get a picture of each of the block/head surfaces and try to figure out where the coolant and oil passages don't line up. It may be that the headgasket is bad aswell.

* the simple answer may be to get a complete head and sell/trade that DOHC head to someone who can actually use it.*

Comment

Get a complete SOHC HEAD? nah...

I actually like the concept of this build. Ive never done one and can only say I've seen two, and they weren't even running just being built.

Any insight on as to whether I can plumb it or plug the passages would do me some severe justice right now, I do thank you for what input you have given me.. contemplating popping the head off to see what's what.

Comment